Rizwan, and Nida Dar are among the ICC T20I cricketer of the year nominated

cricketer of the year nominated

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced nominations to be the ICC T20I cricketer of the year. Pakistan wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan and all-rounder Nida Dar made it to the finals in their respective sections.

The other three candidates in the male category are Zimbabwean Sikander Raza, British Sam Surran, and Indian Suryakumar Yadav.

Rizwan was awarded the T20I cricketer of the Year by ICC at the end of 2021.

As one of the top scorers in the Twenty-over tournament this year Yadav has the highest with 1,164 runs. Followed by Rizwan (996 runs), Virat Kohli (781 runs), and Sikander Raza (735 runs).

Curran received a nomination for his “amazing T20 World Cup” performance this year.

“His best showing came in the final against Pakistan in Melbourne, where he conceded just 12 runs in his fours overs while taking three wickets,” the ICC stated, noting that He was also named the player of the match.

The ICC has praised Rizwan for his consistent performance in the format the body of cricket said. In 25 games during the final year, Pakistani opener Rizwan amassed 996 runs, three stumpings, and nine catches.

Rizwan reportedly scored 175 runs at the T20 World Cup. The second-highest total of any Pakistani batter, and blasted 10 half-centuries in 2022’s T20 International matches.

“Averaging 45.27 in T20Is in 2022. Rizwan enhanced his reputation as a high-quality anchor at the top of Pakistan’s batting line-up,” the statement stated.

The ICC stated that Rizwan’s greatest performance was during the series at home against England during the lead-up towards the T20 World Cup when he was unbeaten in 88 off just 51 deliveries as Pakistan reached a target of 200+ without losing one wicket.

Women’s nominees

Apart from Nida Dar. The female candidates include India’s Smriti Mandhana and New Zealander Sophie Devine and Australia’s Tahlia McGrath.


Dar is the only and the first Pakistan bowler who has claimed 100 T20I wickets. Dar is currently, the second-highest wicket-taker in the Women’s T20Is as per the ICC.

However, she also stood out with her bat. She scored three scores of fifty or more this year, including an Unbeaten 50 at the Commonwealth Games, similar exploits against India at the Asia Cup, and an excellent 61 at home in the match against Ireland on November.

Dar was outstanding during Dar was awe-inspiring in the Asia Cup in which. She recorded 145 runs across six games, with an incredible average of 72.50 She also took eight wickets, at 14.87 runs per game Her overall brilliance was lauded, and Dar was also named one of the ICC Female Player of the Month in October.

Dar’s most impressive performance of the season in the most compact format was the Asia Cup, against Pakistan’s arch-rivals India. After a slow beginning, and with Pakistan struggling to get to 33/3 at the conclusion of the Powerplay the skipper Bismah Maroof was joined in the middle by Dar. Together, they formed a crucial team of 76.

After Maroof’s wicket, Dar continued to build momentum by delivering a flamboyant bowl. She scored 56 not-out in only 37 balls, with the help of five fours as well as a six, assisting her side post 137/6.

When she played the ball, Dar surrendered 23 runs over her four overs. She took two wickets crucial to Jemimah Rodrigues as well as India captain Harmanpreet Kaur, as Pakistan triumphed for the first time against India in T20Is played by women for six years. Dar was named the player of the match due to her match-winning contribution.



Related posts

Pakistan’s special athletes begin preparations for Berlin Games

KARACHI: On Monday morning, the KPT Sports Complex, was buzzing with activity in a heartwarming…
Read more

Minister ko thoda tight karna padega: Babar Azam excited to play with Wahab Riaz in PSL

Riaz’s appointment as sports Minister is quite similar to West Bengal player Manoj…
Read more

10 of the best: Djokovic's dominance at Australian Open

Novak Djokovic extended his unparalleled record of Australian Open titles to 10 with a victory over…
Read more
Become a Trendsetter

Sign up for StayConnecting Daily Digest and get the best of StayConnecting, tailored for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *