43 further PTI MNAs resign, with the approval of the NA speaker.

ISLAMABAD: Per sources who spoke on Tuesday. Raja Pervez Ashraf, speaker of the National Assembly, has accepted the resignations of 43 more Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf lower house members.

Under the condition of anonymity, representatives of the speaker’s office claimed that Ashraf had approved the resignations a few days prior and had given a summary to the Pakistani Election Commission (ECP).

With the approval, the National Assembly is now comprised solely of PTI legislators who are in opposition.



ECP will announce Imran Khan as the winner of the 7 NA seats after receiving the expenditure information

ISLAMABAD: On Thursday, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) decided to proclaim PTI Chairman Imran Khan the victor in each of the constituencies he won in the by-elections held in October.

A five-member bench of the Election Commission made the ruling public. Sikander Sultan Raja, the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), is in charge.

The PTI leader’s refusal to give details on his constituency-specific election costs. The ECP stated that he stood for office in October 2022.

On October 16, the PTI leader ran in by-elections for six seats (NA-22, NA-24, NA-31, NA-108, NA-118, and NA-239), while the election for NA-45 took place on October 30.

According to the results, Imran Khan was proclaimed the winner for each of the seven National Assembly seats. Because he had given the election board the required information.

On December 20, the electoral body indicated that it would reserve judgment.

Every returning candidate must submit a return of election expenses in compliance with section 29’s requirements within five days of the election’s date, per the election laws.

“Upon receiving the election results pursuant to subsection (3) of section 24, the Commission shall publish the names of the returning candidates in the official Gazette:

As long as the candidate doesn’t submit the return of election expenses as required by section 24’s subsection (3).

On October 16, Khan ran for seven NA seats and defeated the candidates of the ruling coalition to win the by-elections in NA-31 Peshawar, NA-22 Mardan, NA-24 Charsadda, NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib-II, and NA-239 Korangi, Karachi-I.

But in Karachi, Khan lost the NA-237 Malir-II seat to PPP candidate Hakeem Baloch, and in Multan, Meharbano Qureshi, the daughter of PTI leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi, lost the other NA seat to PPP candidate Musa Gilani, the son of PPP candidate Yusuf Raza Gilani.

Nine PTI MNAs who had tendered their resignations in bulk in accordance with party policy had their seats vacated when the National Assembly speaker accepted their resignations.

After PTI MNA Malik Fakhar Zaman submitted his resignation, the NA-45 seat became vacant.



Exit mobile version